Politech is the oldest Internet resource devoted to politics and
technology. Launched in 1994 by Declan
McCullagh, the mailing list has chronicled the growing
intersection of culture, technology, politics, and law. Since
2000, so has the Politech web site.
Judge denies Manhattan Bagel a restraining order against critics
- Date: Tue, 19 Sep 2000 16:24:57 -0400
- To: politech@politechbot.com
- Subject: FC: Judge denies Manhattan Bagel a restraining order against critics
- From: Declan McCullagh <declan@well.com>
- Cc: info@newworldcoffeefraud.com, frissell@panix.com, lbode@bgls.com,roccof@bgls.com
----- Forwarded message from Duncan Frissell <frissell@panix.com> -----
From: Duncan Frissell <frissell@panix.com>
Subject: No New World Coffee Disparagement Site TRO
Date: Tue, 19 Sep 2000 14:24:31 -0400
Last Friday in Union County (NJ) Superior Court in Elizabeth, the operator
of www.NewWorldCoffeeFraud.com won a solo victory against three sets of
lawyers when he convinced the judge not to issue a TRO against his
corporate disparagement site.
New World Coffee a NJ-based coffee and bagel franchise company was
represented by
PIPER MARBURY RUDNICK & WOLFE LLP (the Washington DC firm that represented
AOL in its anti-spam litigation), RABINOWITZ, TRENK, LUBETKIN & TULLY (a NJ
firm), as well as New World Coffee's General Counsel.
The company made a series of claims in seeking a TRO including breach of
franchise agreement by franchisees who are supposedly saying unkind things
about it. It is also claiming that the domain names newworldcoffefraud.com
and newworldfraud.com are likely to confuse innocent surfers looking for
coffee (dilution). There was also and Anti-Cybersquatting Act claim.
The judge didn't seem too concerned about the contract claims but was
initially inclined to block the defendant's use of domain names for
dilution and cybersquatting. But once the defendant presented a whois list
of the hundreds of domain names containing the words "new world" (New World
Coffee does not control newworld.com, .org, or .net) she dismissed the
cybersquatting argument. Dilution was thrown out after the defendant
argued that all of the cited cases involved domain names that were
initially confusing versions of trademarks (jews-for-jesus.org,
plannedparenthood.org, etc.) The judge agreed that even the most casual
viewer would not confuse newworldcoffeefraud.com with the trademark
holder's site.
The underlying case is still active and plaintiffs are seeking early
discovery to see if they can uncover the defendant's sources. He is
defending using the NJ shield law for journalists.
Any New Jersey lawyers interested in the case?
DCF
----
"Di-electrical materialism dooms the Ancien Regime, the Treaty of
Westphalia, the Communist International, the whole shooting match"
----- End forwarded message -----
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
POLITECH -- the moderated mailing list of politics and technology
You may redistribute this message freely if it remains intact.
To subscribe, visit http://www.politechbot.com/info/subscribe.html
This message is archived at http://www.politechbot.com/
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Return to politechbot.com