[Politech logo]

Politech is the oldest Internet resource devoted to politics and technology. Launched in 1994 by Declan McCullagh, the mailing list has chronicled the growing intersection of culture, technology, politics, and law. Since 2000, so has the Politech web site.

Comcast plugs up The Well, bounces legitimate email



Last month we heard about AOL refusing mail from The Well, which became an 
innocent victim of the spam wars:
http://www.politechbot.com/p-04827.html

Now Comcast is doing the same thing. I just received a bounce from 
abuse@comcast.net saying The Well was blocked for spamming (ironically, I 
was reporting spam coming from Comcast's network). Comcast's bounce message 
to me is below.

This should not affect list delivery, because the Politech server is what 
makes the connection to Comcast's servers. But if you email me from a 
Comcast account, I will not be able to reply from my well.com address.

I invite Comcast to explain why this is happening and, I hope, pledge that 
this kind of mistake will not occur again. If anyone reading this message 
has a contact at Comcast, please forward this message to them in case this 
bounces  as well.

Thanks,
Declan

---

Date: Wed, 02 Jul 2003 19:22:50 -0700
To: declan@well.com
From: "Jay W. Luther" <jluther@well.com>
Subject: Comcast Plugs Up The Well

A while back, as I recall, politech had an entry that Comcast was blocking 
mail from the Well on spam grounds. Well, ATTBI domain names and email were 
just switched to the Comcast servers this last week, and guess what?  The 
Well can no longer sent to Comcast subscribers. I've advised the Well, and 
it's "looking into it."

The thing that's really irritating is that although well.com has been one 
of my main email providers for 10 years, my primary ISP is none other than 
Comcast.

Here's the bounce message, with recipent's name changed:


 > To: <jluther@well.com>
 > Subject: Returned mail: see transcript for details
 >
 > The original message was received at Wed, 2 Jul 2003 13:44:06 -0700 (PDT)
 > from 12-236-165-250.client.attbi.com [12.236.165.250]
 >
 >     ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
 > <abcedef@attbi.com>
 >      (reason: 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net.
 > -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01)
 > <abcdef@comcast.net>
 >      (reason: 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net.
 > -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01)
 >
 >     ----- Transcript of session follows -----
 > .... while talking to gateway.attbi.com.:
 >  >>> MAIL From:<jluther@well.com> SIZE=3618
 > <<< 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked
 > for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
 > 554 5.0.0 Service unavailable
 > .... while talking to gateway-r.comcast.net.:
 >  >>> MAIL From:<jluther@well.com> SIZE=3618
 > <<< 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked
 > for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
 > 554 5.0.0 Service unavailable
 > Reporting-MTA: dns; smtp.well.com
 > Received-From-MTA: DNS; 12-236-165-250.client.attbi.com
 > Arrival-Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 13:44:06 -0700 (PDT)
 >
 > Final-Recipient: RFC822; abcedf@attbi.com
 > Action: failed
 > Status: 5.0.0
 > Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by
 > blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
 > Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 13:44:07 -0700 (PDT)
 >
 > Final-Recipient: RFC822; abcdef@comcast.net
 > Action: failed
 > Status: 5.0.0
 > Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by
 > blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
 > Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 13:45:02 -0700 (PDT)
 > Return-Path: <jluther@well.com>
 > Received: from c508022-a.well.com (12-236-165-250.client.attbi.com
 > [12.236.165.250])
 >          by smtp.well.com (8.12.9/8.12.9) with ESMTP id h62Ki6me014488;
 >          Wed, 2 Jul 2003 13:44:06 -0700 (PDT)
 > Message-Id: <5.1.1.5.2.20030702133922.04b9de30@mail.well.com>
 > X-Sender: jluther@mail.well.com
 > X-Mailer: QUALCOMM Windows Eudora Version 5.1.1
 > Date: Wed, 02 Jul 2003 13:44:04 -0700
 > To: "Able Baker" <abcdef@comcast.net>
 >

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                   Jay W. Luther

               Voice: 415-456-6197               Fax: 415-456-8597
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

---

Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 21:45:38 -0700 (PDT)
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem <MAILER-DAEMON@smtp.well.com>
Message-Id: <200307030445.h634jcmd024701@smtp.well.com>
To: <declan@well.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;
         boundary="h634jcmd024701.1057207538/smtp.well.com"
Subject: Returned mail: see transcript for details

The original message was received at Wed, 2 Jul 2003 21:45:35 -0700 (PDT)
from pool-138-88-152-163.esr.east.verizon.net [138.88.152.163]

    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<abuse@comcast.net>
     (reason: 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. 
-> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01)

    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to gateway-r.comcast.net.:
 >>> MAIL From:<declan@well.com> SIZE=2159
<<< 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked 
for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
554 5.0.0 Service unavailable
Reporting-MTA: dns; smtp.well.com
Received-From-MTA: DNS; pool-138-88-152-163.esr.east.verizon.net
Arrival-Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 21:45:35 -0700 (PDT)

Final-Recipient: RFC822; abuse@comcast.net
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 206.14.209.7 blocked by 
blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net. -> Blocked for spam abuse - 2003/07/01
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 21:45:37 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <declan@well.com>
Received: from SonyVaio.well.com (pool-138-88-152-163.esr.east.verizon.net 
[138.88.152.163])
         by smtp.well.com (8.12.9/8.12.9) with ESMTP id h634jYme023237;
         Wed, 2 Jul 2003 21:45:35 -0700 (PDT)
Message-Id: <5.2.1.1.0.20030702213435.0395a570@mail.well.com>
X-Sender: declan@mail.well.com
X-Mailer: QUALCOMM Windows Eudora Version 5.2.1
Date: Wed, 02 Jul 2003 21:34:41 -0400
To: abuse@comcast.net
From: Declan McCullagh <declan@well.com>
Subject: Fwd: www.kissingtime.com the only FREE dating site!
Cc: [my own spam database]
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"; format=flowed


>Return-Path: <webbyyou@excite.com>
>Received: from smtp.well.com (smtp.well.com [206.14.209.7])
>         by mail.well.com (8.12.9/8.12.9) with ESMTP id h631X5vX029412
>         for <declan@mail.well.com>; Wed, 2 Jul 2003 18:33:06 -0700 (PDT)
>Received: from assassin.well.com (assassin.well.com [206.14.209.12])
>         by smtp.well.com (8.12.9/8.12.9) with ESMTP id h631X6md006445
>         for <declan@well.com>; Wed, 2 Jul 2003 18:33:06 -0700 (PDT)
>Received: from 67.163.21.73 (c-67-163-21-73.client.comcast.net [67.163.21.73])
>         by assassin.well.com (8.12.9/8.12.9) with SMTP id h631X3VO027439
>         for <declan@well.com>; Wed, 2 Jul 2003 18:33:03 -0700 (PDT)
>Message-Id: <200307030133.h631X3VO027439@assassin.well.com>
>From: "Kissingtime" <webbyyou@excite.com>
>To: <declan@well.com>
>Subject: www.kissingtime.com the only FREE dating site!
>Sender: "Kissingtime" <webbyyou@excite.com>
>Mime-Version: 1.0
>Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
>Date: Wed, 2 Jul 2003 20:33:05 -0500
>X-Spam-Status: No, hits=0.9 required=3.8
>         tests=MSG_ID_ADDED_BY_MTA_3,SUBJ_FREE_CAP
>         version=2.54-the_well_w
>X-Spam-Level:
>X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.54-the_well_w 
>(1.174.2.17-2003-05-11-exp)
>X-UIDL: 5526fe3582e73b2b029d06a1432aaf71
>
>The only dating site that charges your for nothing.  Free to contact, free
>to post. free to everything!   grand opening is today so feel free to hop
>on before they start to charge!  See you there!
>
>http://www.kissingtime.com






-------------------------------------------------------------------------
POLITECH -- Declan McCullagh's politics and technology mailing list
You may redistribute this message freely if you include this notice.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
To subscribe to Politech: http://www.politechbot.com/info/subscribe.html
This message is archived at http://www.politechbot.com/
Declan McCullagh's photographs are at http://www.mccullagh.org/
Like Politech? Make a donation here: http://www.politechbot.com/donate/
-------------------------------------------------------------------------




Enter your email address to join Politech, Declan McCullagh's moderated technology and politics announcement list:

Return to politechbot.com